YOUNG JESSIE - Don't Happen No More - LP

Jazzman RecordsSKU: LP-JMANLP068


Tax included. Click here for delivery time outside DE / Lieferzeit in DE ca. 2-3 Werktage. Shipping calculated at checkout

Only 1 unit left


Young Jessie is one of the unheralded greats of the R&B, Rock & Roll and Soul eras. Beginning his career as a young teenager in LA vocal group the Flairs (with schoolmate Richard Berry, later of 'Louie Louie' infamy), he then signed on with Modern records and cut several high quality R&B sides through the mid-1950s. Never quite achieving the level of fame and fortune of some of his immediate peers, the closest Young Jessie got to a hit was 1956's 'Mary Lou', which sold well regionally and was later on covered by the likes of Bob Seger and the Steve Miller band. Meanwhile, Young Jessie busied himself recording demos with Leiber & Stoller for one of their regular artists, Elvis Presley. Flitting between labels at the end of the 50s and into the 60s, his own output remained consistently of a very high quality, and always in step with the changing times - from doo wop in his beginnings through Blues, R&B, Rock & Roll and into Soul. Throughout all of that, Young Jessie always considered himself a Jazz singer first and foremost, and this influence underpins all of his vocal performances. 
Limited and handnumbered to 999 copies.


Side A
1. I Smell a Rat
2. Lonesome Desert
3. Hoochie Coochie
4. Don't Happen No More
5. Mary Lou (Modern)
6. Lula Belle
7. Hit, Git and Split

Side B
8. Big Chief (King of Love)
9. The Wrong Door
10. Teacher Gimme Back
11. Brown Eyes (Come on Home)
12. You Were Meant for Me
13. Make Me Feel a Little Good
14. Mary Lou

Payment & Security

Amazon American Express Apple Pay Google Pay Klarna Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay SOFORT Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

Recently viewed