Kingston SoundsSKU: LP-06-KSL069


Tax included. Click here for delivery time outside DE / Lieferzeit in DE ca. 2-3 Werktage. Shipping calculated at checkout

Only 1 unit left


Fantastic 14-track compilation with RUDEBOY related Ska, Rock Steady and early tunes. Recorded at Jamaica's top studios: WIRL, TREASURE ISLE, RANDY'S, FEDERAL & HARRY J's !

The Rude Boy moniker has its roots firmly set in the downtown districts of Kingston, Jamaica. Alongside the regular Ska/ Rocksteady sounds coming out of the sound systems, there was an undercurrent theme to some songs that spoke of the struggles of the youth, of their confrontation, arrests and run-ins with the establishment. Some of these songs praised the Rude Boys fo their stance and style while othe songs were more in contempt with therudeboy’s attitudes, comings, goings and violent behaviour.

Some of the runnings that did not help their standing with their elders’ was that not only did they get employed by sound system operators to help keep their dance safe but also to disrupt competitors dances, a job that also gave them the name dancehall crasher. Where music leads fashion is never far behind and the rude boys were no exception. The look favoured, sharp suits, thin ties, pork pie or Trilby hats and stylish shoes. The British not only took on the music, but also the look of the rude boy as the styles moved between the Mod look and also the American jazz and soul influences of the time. This 60’s style made a comeback in the United Kingdom with the Mod / Two Tone revival. Bands like The Specials showed their love of the Jamaican music, which heavily influenced their first album even seeing them covering some of the Jamaican classics like ‘Monkey Man’ and ‘A Message To You Rudy’.

For this release we have put together a set of tunes that the Jamaican rude boys would have been listening to at the sound systems on the lawns and street corners. Not only the more obvious rude boy tunes like ‘Gunmen Coming To Town’, ‘Dreader than Dread’, `Moon Hop’ but also some of the tunes that made the sound systems rock well into the night.


1 Fat Man - Derrick Morgan
2 Wine and Grine - Lloydie & The Lovebites
3 Love Is All I Have - Phyllis Dillon
4 Put Yourself In My Place - Delroy Wilson
5 Rainbow Into The Rio Mino - Rico Rodriguez
6 I Love You - Derrick Morgan
7 Dreader Than Dread - Honey Boy Martin

1 Gunmen Coming To Town - The Heptones
2 Rub Up, Push Up - Justin Hinds
3 Soul Voyage - Lester Sterling
4 Moon Hop - Derrick Morgan
5 Fat Girl, Sexy Girl - John Holt
6 Reggae Hit The Town - The Ethiopians
7 How Long - Pat Kelly

Payment & Security

Amazon American Express Apple Pay Google Pay Klarna Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay SOFORT Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

Recently viewed